66. Into the Unknown

It’s always an odd feeling when life, or God, leads you to someplace you weren’t expecting to visit. This is where I find myself right now. God is transforming my mind and bringing me healing in ways that are truly impossible, at least impossible on my own strength. (Trust me, I have tried to “fix” myself in these ways many a time..) It’s so strange to finally be in the transition period and yet not be the initiator of it; so amazing and scary to feel and see these changes and new patterns of thought.

The “scary” got a lot bigger than the “amazing” this week, though. Honestly, there was one day when I would just randomly start crying over seemingly little things. Except that they represented this new place God is taking me, so they were actually really big things to me.

At the end of that emotional day, the Holy Spirit gently reminded me that I can trust my Father. It’s not me against the world, nor me on a journey to miserableness by myself. Nope. It’s me traveling the road to wholeness with a good, good Father and Friend. (Having great friends and family helps a whole lot too.)

I was reminded of Jeremiah 29:11: “For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Isn’t it great when the cliché verses take on whole new meaning!? Well, in my unsureness, this verse became a rock of truth.

I don’t know what the next months, or even the next few days, will look like on this transition journey. That’s an acute fact right now. But really, do any of us really know what the next days will hold? That’s why the Bible encourages us to say, “If the Lord wills it, we will do _______.” Keeping hold of the promises that God has a good plan and that He works all things together for the good of those who love Him will make every weird day and odd “I don’t know what’s going on” feeling much easier to roll with.

Leave a Reply

