58. Emotion Recognized: Prayer

One week ago, I knew what the topic of this post would be. What I didn’t know was that God was going to give me some up to date experience on the topic. Basically, this past week was bad. For about a year now I’ve been in a season of healing- from Lyme Disease, mold sickness, anxiety, and unbelief in a good God. There have been times in this season when life was straight up miserable and hopeless, and after feeling okay for a while, I got a taste of it again this past week.

My response has changed, though. Getting out of the hole is not something I’m capable of on my own. In this most recent drop, after a little while in the pits, I started laying out exactly how I felt to God. I told Him exactly what I hated about the situation and what I wanted to see changed. I begged Him to bring the calm back into my being. And today I sit typing in the calm. There’s still a battle ahead, as college classes start next week, but I am still praying.

Through this season I’ve learned that God loves us so much that He cares about our feelings and experiences. There’s something special about connecting with God in the midst of them, whether they’re bad or good. And you can just be with God and pour out your heart in the moments when you don’t know what to say.

“Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words.” – Romans 8:26

When you pour out your heart in prayer, it opens the gates for God to work. On one hand it will be obvious when God answers because it means so much. On the other, your very view of whatever it may be changes. Either way we get to see a tangible picture of the victory Jesus bought at the cross.

Leave a Reply

