57. The Catalyst: Prayer

Prayer. It means many different things to many people. For the American culture, prayer is mostly a stress-reliever , pray to some higher being who may or may not be there. You find so much more power in prayer when you pray according to promises and who God wants His people to be, though.

Last week, I wrote on how God is capable of doing anything. But, as I’ve been learning, a foundation of prayer usually comes before God moves. He can certainly move of His own will, but in much of life our prayers of faith allow God to work in and around us.

While there are multiple tricks to praying effectively so that God moves, there’s one in particular I’d like to share. ‘War Room’ introduced the idea of praying the Bible to me. In the movie, the main character begins writing out certain verses to pray over herself and her family. It inspired me. I asked God to show me the verses He wanted me to pray over myself and others. Some of them made no sense at the time and I even tried to ignore them, searching for a different verse instead. Looking back, though, I can see how praying each and every verse prepared me and my family for what was to come.

IMG_20160811_145229545

Praying scripture funnels our prayers toward God’s will, heart, and promises. When we simply pray our emotions and thoughts, we miss out. There is a melding together of God’s purpose and our concerns while praying scripture. The verse becomes a guide for the prayer. If you think it sounds boring, I dare you to try it.

Just a few examples:

“Whoever drinks of the water that I will give him will never be thirsty again. The water that I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” – John 4:14

God, help me to run to You when I am thirsty- when I desire more. Help me not to go to empty wells for the life and pleasure I desire.

“He trusted in the LORD, the God of Israel, so that there was none like him among all the kings of Judah after him, nor among those who were before him.” -2 Kings 18:5

God, I want to trust You. Build in me a heart that trusts You and Your leading in any situation. Let others see that quiet trust and praise You.

“Only let each person lead the life that the Lord has assigned to him, and to which God has called him.” -1 Corinthians 7:17

Grow contentment in me to be where You have placed me. Let me value who You made me to be, and not go running after something else.

Prayer is one of the most powerful tools we hold against the enemy and for letting loose God’s power, especially when that prayer is guided by the Word of God.

Leave a Reply

