56. Power for Life

True peace, love, and happiness are not things you will find in a world without God. God is the very energy keeping the world in existence, though, so in reality you can’t separate the world from God.

I always love to find parallels between the natural world and spiritual world.  God sustains every rotation of the earth, and of the solar system, and even for the rest of the galaxy. If God can hold together all of that, why do I doubt He can provide for me?

My devotional today pointed out that so often our prayers are hindered because don’t think something can happen. In our minds, the situation has been a certain way for so long that we think it can’t change. And maybe that’s why Paul pointed out that “He is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us.” (Ephesians 3:20) Surely Paul wrote that sentence out of experience; the knowledge that God can do anything.

IMG_20160804_115451170_HDR

Yes, this is a tissue… Love that quote, though!

But then right after that affirmation, he says, “I therefore, a prisoner for the Lord, urge you to walk a manner worthy of the calling to which you have been called, with all humility and gentleness, with patience, bearing with one another in love, eager to maintain the unit of the Spirit in the bond of peace.” (Eph. 4:1) So because we have the power of God on our side, we can/ should live in this way.

I’ve watched God change multiple things recently that have blown me away. Why? Because I didn’t think they could be changed. God is in the business of miracles simply because He is God. And I think He loves reminding us of that.

“God grant me the serenity

To accept the things I cannot change;

Courage to change the things I can;

And wisdom to know the difference.

Living one day at a time;

Accepting hardships as the partway to peace;

Taking as Jesus did, this sinful world

As it is, not as I would have it;

Trusting that He will make all things right

If I surrender to His Will;

That I may be reasonably happy in this life

And supremely happy with Him

Forever in the next.

Amen.”

-Reinhold Niebuhr

One thought on “56. Power for Life

  1. Pingback: The Catalyst: Prayer | grace flowing

Leave a Reply

