54. Hope in the Waking

What is your outlook when you wake up? If you’re anything like me, it’s not so hopeful. Jumping out of bed because I’m just so excited to start my day doesn’t happen very often. Instead, it’s more like a game of how long can I stay snuggled with eyes closed.

But then this morning I awoke to these song lyrics playing in my head:

“At break of day, in hope we rise.
We speak Your Name, we lift our eyes.
Tune our hearts into Your beat.
Where we walk, there You’ll be…

You will never fade away, Your love is here to stay
By my side, in my life, shining through me everyday.”

(Wake by Hillsong Young and Free)

In hope I start my day. Not in dread, or fear, or even dwelling on feeling tired.

Why? Because of the gospel. A great hope for life has been given through it. “After a little while the world will no longer see Me, but you will see Me; because I live, you will live also.” (John 14:19)

Jesus was referring to his coming death and the eternal life that would be given to His followers. Eternal life. It is far greater than this current experience held dearly by so many. The point is not that nothing in this mortal life matters, but that our future eternal life influences how we live this one.

Hope leaves us ready and willing to follow God’s leading in this life. It leaves us excited to see what is to come. Most importantly, it gives us a reason to look forward to each day.

IMG_20160716_204158887

Disclaimer: this picture is actually of a sunset… but you get the idea.

One thought on “54. Hope in the Waking

  1. That is an awesome song! And my morning starts with me trying to inhale enough coffee to wake up and spend a few minutes worshiping Jesus. It usually takes several cups haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

