9. The Question, “Why God?”

I cannot tell you how many times I’ve asked God “why?” over the past two years. A few of the major why?’s included:

Why won’t my parents allow me to get my license, or progress toward adulthood?

Why is my health failing?

Why can’t I handle as much “stuff” in my schedule as other people do?

Why is my mind so blinded by fear and depression that I cannot believe Truth?

Why am I stuck in an eating disorder?

Why can’t I get a job?

Why don’t I have any plan of what I want to do with my life?

When I was in my early teens, God was good and trials were great. I saw how hard stuff drew me closer to God. But each of those seasons I described above with my questions left me seriously doubting that God has power and control in my life. How could feeling isolated from God possibly be His plan? Why would any of that stuff have been allowed?

Looking back, God has given me the vision to see how He was working. The most obvious thing is that if my life had been free of that stuff, I wouldn’t be able to empathize with people who are going through those things.

God will bring Himself glory through us. It’s a fact. I have asked God on a couple of occasions to let whatever come into my life that would make me most useful to Him. Yes, it is a scary prayer, unless you really believe God is good.

While God is good, He ultimately cares about our holiness, not our happiness.

In his book, “The Good Life” Trip Lee says, “Faith in your Creator means more than giving lip service to His existence. It means believing what He says and so ordering your life around it. It means inconveniencing yourself for the sake of following Him.”

And yes, this Truth can be impossible to believe at times. Just hold on to the promise that God loves you wherever you are. Your life doesn’t have to be perfect, it doesn’t even have to be mildly pretty. (Romans 5:6-8) Right now, He is sending little “messages”, planned just for you, to show His love.

The song, “Nothing is Wasted” by Elevation Worship is great!

Leave a Reply

